Meet Dr. “V”


By November 14, 2019 No Comments

Grieving after losing something or someone precious to you is important. Women, especially, have a difficult time with grief and loss due to their emotional makeup.

The feeling of emptiness and the staggering pain that you feel after a loss is something that everyone will experience at least once if not several times in a lifetine.

The hollowness of the soul is what we call grief!

It is not easy to put grief into words. Everyone experiences this emptiness and the duration can be unbearable at times.. Loss of a loved one, death of a beloved pet, a friendship-breakup, or ending of a romantic relationship are factors that can lead to grief.

Grief can be prolonged in women.

Sometimes grieving women end up questioning themselves about what is the point of curling up in bed and crying all night. Well, grief is an important emotion. It is essential to grieve after a loss that is so close to the heart. Failing to do so can negatively impact a woman’s mental health.

Importance of Grieving

Suppressing the emotions will only heighten them.

It is normal to feel sad and lonely after losing someone of something that you loved. Even if the world expects for you to stand strong, you still need to give yourself time to grieve!

Grieving is a part of the life cycle. It is definitely not an ideal situation; however, it is a very real experience.

The physical and mental pain associated with grief can help build a deeper understanding and appreciation for the value that life holds. It makes people stronger and instills the courage to endure challenging times.

There are five stages of grief and loss. First is denial, followed by anger, bargaining, depression, and finally, acceptance. It is a complete process, and missing any one of these stages will make it difficult for you to successfully maneuver through the process.

Some women may grieve for a shorter period of time, while others may experience prolonged grief. Consequently, there is no fixed time as to when the grieving process will end.

Unfortunately, there are times when grief can last for an unusual duration. When the mental anguish is constant and maintaining daily living activities is difficult, one is experiencing complicated grief.

During this phase, you may find it very challenging to move past the agony and pain of loss. In such a case, you may benefit from the services of a professional therapist who can effectively support you through  all five stages of the grief cycle.

Houston’s Mental Health and Wellness Specialist, Dr. Vickie Sutherland, provides therapy for women and adolescent girls who are experiencing the challenges that can accompany grief and loss.

Leave a Reply